The Sober Revolution – available to buy now!

A few weeks ago I blogged about the book I’d been writing with Sarah Turner being almost finished, and how thrilled I was at having achieved one of my long-standing dreams. At that stage we were planning on self-publishing because our main goal was to get our book out there as fast as possible with the hope that it would a) help people to understand their relationship with alcohol better and b) describe a mind-set which would enable them, should they adopt the same way of thinking, to feel happy about being a non-drinker. We weren’t keen on the idea of passing the manuscript to numerous potential publishers and waiting perhaps months for a decision, when we were so eager to have our book read by those looking for help with an alcohol dependency.

On the off-chance we decided, very abruptly, to contact a publisher (Accent Press) who we had read about in a newspaper a couple of months earlier and who we felt might understand where we were coming from in terms of our book – we decided that this would be our only attempt to get the book published by someone else, and if we were turned down we would go back to our original self-publishing plan.

Within a day of reading the manuscript our single choice publisher contacted us and informed us that she would absolutely love to publish our book, and that it had had a profound effect on the way that she viewed her own relationship with alcohol – as a result of reading it she had decided to become a non-drinker too, and was thrilled to bits about this sudden lifestyle change.

So here we are, just a few weeks later, with a book published and available to buy as an eBook on Amazon right now, and in paperback format in a week or two. In early January 51On+gbK4vL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-70,22_AA300_SH20_OU02_2014 our book, ‘The Sober Revolution’, will be out in the book shops too.

You can buy ‘The Sober Revolution’ from Amazon or by clicking on the link below – we hope you enjoy reading it, and would love to hear what you think!

http://www.amazon.co.uk/

21 thoughts on “The Sober Revolution – available to buy now!

  1. Jennifer says:

    Wow, what a great story!! I love it. Tried to buy it just now but I don’t think it’s available on kindle in the U.S. yet (?). Can’t wait to read. x

    • Hi Jen, thanks for your message. We have sold a few in the US so it is definitely available there. I’m not sure why you couldn’t buy it – maybe a glitch? Please let me know if you are still having trouble and I’ll see if I can help…Lucy xx

  2. Kats says:

    Well done. Can’t wait to gt a copy!! I’m on this journey again of saying good bye to alcohol so he timing good!

  3. Debbie says:

    That is so TOTAL AWESOME! I cannot wait to get my hands on it. Congratulations on your success and many more!!!!!!

  4. I am a Licensed Mental Health Counselor and run a weekly group for substance use and am excited to share this book with my clients, and read them the edited extract. I wish you continued motivation on your recovery journey!

    • That’s great to know, thank you for getting in touch and for sharing The Sober Revolution with your clients. I really hope it helps them and many others realise that life without alcohol is great! Many thanks, and best wishes, Lucy x

  5. I just read an edited extract of your book on an Australian news site and I couldn’t help but feel that the Universe was sending me a sign. I’ve recently made the decision to abstain from alcohol, and I’m really hoping your book will help me continue to. Can’t wait to read it!!! Thank you!

    • Thanks for getting in touch and I really hope The Sober Revolution lives up to expectations! Please let me know what you think, and good luck on your sober journey :-) x

  6. Tanja says:

    I went to a 50th birthday party two years ago which in reality was the usual gathering of drunks on a weekend. There were fights, stupidity and the women were doing and yelling things that don’t do women justice. I walked out, having only had a few drinks. I haven’t returned and left a few bitter and envious women in my wake and I still feel pretty smug. I would like to read your book. It will help reinforce my resolve. (As if a 20 kg weight loss isn’t enough reinforcement.) I often think that a way to target women’s drinking is to highlight the vanity factors such as looks, behavior and the fact that most men find drunken women quite unattractive.

    • Totally agree with you and I love the fact that I have no real need to manage my weight as it just stays the same regardless of the odd few chocolate treats!! What a shame the 50th party you went to was ruined in that way by alcohol – most of them won’t even remember what they think was a good time anyway, completely pointless!! I hope you enjoy The Sober Revolution and thanks for your comment x

  7. Bronte says:

    Bravo, being alcohol free is liberating and has contributed most to increasing my happiness over the past 7 years. only looking back can u see how much time booze consumes, thinking about alcohol, reading about alcohol – latest wines bla bla bla, going to bottle shops to buy alcohol, waiting at the bar to be served, sitting around drinking, getting over hangovers, UGGHH what a waste. I gave up because I was doing IVF (unsuccessfully) but growing up with an alcoholic father I knew this was the clean break I needed. Good luck anyone who is on this journey – you won’t regret a minute of living free of drinking.

    • Hi and thanks for your comment. Yes, liberating is the word! I am so pleased that I stopped drinking alcohol – the last 2 and a half years of sober living have been the best of my life, without a doubt. Great to hear from you. All the best x

  8. Jason says:

    I am a man in the US but your stories about the benefits of sobriety and the experiences you had while drinking resonate regardless of local or gender. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

