Mindfulness Meditation

Negative emotions are a fact of life – for many, the easy and obvious response to feeling down is to reach for a drink. However, excessive alcohol exacerbates depression and anxiety, and results in an inability to effectively manage the issues we face in everyday life.

bright_sunrise_breakwater_beach

Mindfulness Meditation is an EXCELLENT method for dealing with stressful situations. It can help by equipping individuals with a significant degree of self-awareness, increasing their sensitivity with regards to surroundings, and allowing them to train their minds to achieve a state of tranquillity, no matter what difficult situations are faced.

angel_clouds_m

Those who practise Mindfulness Meditation are able to focus on the present, without being dragged down by the past or wasting time worrying about uncertain futures.

When I meditate, I sit cross-legged in an upright position and train my scatter-brained mind on a dot which I visualise in my mind’s eye. Over the course of a few minutes I concentrate on decreasing the size of the dot, until it has vanished completely – then I try and hold that empty state of mind for as long as possible.

Image courtesy of © Bparish | Stock Free Images & Dreamstime Stock Photos

I usually spend about 15 – 20 minutes on Mindfulness Meditation. When I’ve finished, I feel relaxed and calm.

You can meditate alone or in a group, sitting or lying down, in the morning, afternoon or evening. It’s a case of fitting it in to your lifestyle in a way that will allow you to practice regularly. It’s free, and it REALLY works. For me, it has been one of the most useful tools in beating the booze.

3 thoughts on “Mindfulness Meditation

  1. I have also found mindfulness has had some really good benefits. I found out about it some years ago when my partner was doing a pain management course, and I took it up to support her. I have read a lot about how it helps people with addiction issues although I was already a few years alcohol fee when I started.
    There is a new book out this week by Stanton Peele and Ilse Thompson which is about basing recovery around self empowering techniques and mindfulness is a core part of the method. I have read about 4 chapters and really think it would help many people who are affected by cravings and who wish to change. Here is a link http://theperfectprogram.net/?p=7
    For more general mindfulness information I often read Gil Fronsdal.

Leave a Reply

