David Cameron Misses the Point

Earlier this week, I wrote an article about David Cameron’s ‘Alcohol Strategy’ and sent it to Alastair Campbell to see if he would be kind enough to post it on his website. Alastair very kindly published it this afternoon, and you can read it by following the link below.

All comments warmly received – let’s get a debate going!

http://www.alastaircampbell.org/blog/2012/10/26/camerons-alcohol-strategy-is-missing-the-point-a-guest-blog-from-a-recovering-middle-class-alcoholic/

4 thoughts on “David Cameron Misses the Point

  1. Dominic Marsh says:

    I read the blog. A very good piece. I think the reason that “responsible drinkers” are labelled as such is because, as you allude to, these people tend to be 2.4 children type folk…. and precisely the sort of people politicians don’t want to piss off. Our vote is more important than our health, if you will. Speaking from experience, what is really annoying is that there is a social stigma associated with being a non-drinker! People’s reactions range from “What’s wrong with you?” to “Are you a Mormon or something?”

    My feeling is that we need to start tackling this stigma and that means talking openly about alcohol and the problems it causes. Your blog is a great example of the kind of thing that we should be doing more of.

    • Thanks for this message, and yes, it is definitely a political issue. Also, of course, there is the drinks industry and their huge powers of influence, to consider. The amount of wine bought in the UK has doubled in the last twenty years, and the middle classes drink the vast majority of it. No government would want to curtail the revenue that rolls in from the wallets of alcohol dependent wine drinkers, and so it is easier to just pretend that we are all ‘responsible drinkers.’
      When we launch our website, we are keen to try and use it to overturn society’s perception of teetotallers, as boring geeks. It’s just not cool (in my view) to get slaughtered every weekend and to be a grumpy, hard-to-reach parent or partner. I hope we are successful because I believe that if people began to change their view about non-drinkers, they might start to question their drinking habits a bit more closely and hopefully address them.
      Thanks again, Lucy

  2. Wow Lucy,
    You hit the nail well and truly on the head with that article, I was definitely in the hidden drinking society, I did most of my drinking behind closed doors. When I stopped my liver results were abnormal and my blood pressure, despite the medication sky high, thankfully both are coming down, but I am not a problem to them as I am hidden, but my medical issues still need treating, I still require regular check up, even more so now, I am still a burden on society even though I no longer drink.

    Wayne

    • Hi Wayne, I bet you’re not alone either. A couple of years before I gave up alcohol I went to the doctor and asked for a liver test. Thankfully it came back normal – so I carried on drinking. I didn’t have another one done when I finished with alcohol for good as I was too scared, just hoped everything would return to normal if there was any damage.
      Statistics of those with alcohol-related illnesses show that more and more ‘normal’ (i.e. not Dave Cameron’s vision of youth binge drinkers, drunk on alcopops) people are being admitted to hospital and who are dying prematurely because of their heavy alcohol consumption.
      But forget that alcohol is an addictive drug – if you are considered ‘middle class’ then it’s your problem, you deal with it.
      Highly irresponsible of the government to then peddle this drug on such a grand scale.
      Thanks for your comment, it’s great to hear from other people who are not blinkered! Lucy

Leave a Reply

