A Day Not To Forget

I had a brilliant day today. Nothing out of the ordinary was planned which may have marked it out as stand-alone from any other Tuesday, although I did wake up feeling full of energy and desperate to go running, and that usually results in a positive start to the day ahead. The sun was beaming and even at 7 am the promise of the glorious day to come was obvious as I jogged around the park dragging the dog along behind me (she is 7 this year and not quite as fit as she once was).

After lunch, baby rejuvenated from her morning sleep of 3 hours, we did a few jobs around the house before settling into the lounge to play. At 14 months, Lily has just discovered the incredible concept of putting something inside a container before removing it again, a look of total concentration on her angelic face as if she has happened upon a remarkable piece of magic.

pink%20pot

For an hour I lay on the rug next to her as she placed her items into the pots I had lined up. I couldn’t take my eyes off her; for sixty minutes we were there, Lily and her very serious face as she put something in, took something out, and me, gazing at her in awe as though she was the first baby on the planet to engage in this activity.

I thought afterwards how grateful I am to the world at large for propelling me along the many different paths in my life which eventually got me to that rug this afternoon with Lily and her selection of pink pots filled with small wooden blocks. Rarely do I manage to fully live in the present and banish all worrisome or niggling thoughts from my mind in order to wholly soak up the here and now, but this afternoon that is precisely what I did and it was magical – I’ll remember that passing of time forever, I just know I will.

9 thoughts on “A Day Not To Forget

  1. zachandclem says:

    That’s awesome! Everything happened so that that afternoon on the rug would happen, too 🙂 No regrets my dear!! Nice post xx

    • Thanks for your comment, really appreciate it. When things work out in the end it does kind of make you think everything happened for a reason doesn’t it? Happy that it worked out this way anyway! x

      • zachandclem says:

        Yep 🙂 And when things go wrong, it was never intended and other people are to blame. It’s how the world works.

  2. I too love moments like this. Time seems to stand still. The worries of the world melt away and dissipate. There is nothing but you and the wee one. Watching them navigate through the simple pleasures in life makes me a very happy dude. I was watching kids play in the school yard today and thought about when we lost that joy of reckless unbridled play ourselves. But a pleasure to watch.

    Thanks for this…wonderful.

    Paul

    • eacarrington2 says:

      they say we should learn to play like children again, be present in the moment to enjoy the little things this is were we can become one with ourselves and really enjoy the moment. easier said than done.
      bizi

Leave a Reply

