Was That Me..?

Today’s post is a guest blog by Stacey Brunt, a Writer, Actor and Teacher based in Chesterfield, Derbyshire. Her written works include plays, poetry and fiction. She has also recently begun attending “Open Book” writers group at Brampton Manor, Chesterfield.

holding-hands6

 

Was that me?

Vessel in hand

Mascara striped face

Empties littered the floor

 

Was that me?

Crying for help

Screaming out loud

Needing; more and more

 

Was that me?

Lying through teeth

Stumble on road

Longing it to hit

 

Was that me?

Sweat stained sheets

Vomit marked mat

Wallowing, deep in pit

 

Was that me?

Alone and afraid

Crawling in skin

Wanting and needing an end

 

Was that me?

Crisp hospital bed

Wired, head spinning

Or was it make-pretend?

 

Was that me?

Was

That

Me?

 

Now,

THIS is me…

Head held high

Clear glass eyes

Not really how it was planned

 

But,

Step out in sun

Inhale, now exhale

Holding onto your hand…

 

For My Mam, Fran.

 

2 thoughts on “Was That Me..?

Leave a Reply

