Wake Up & Live

It was all about the evenings when I was a drinker, muddling through the daylight hours with my mind firmly fixed on that bottle of wine waiting in the fridge for me when I got home. Now it’s the mornings I love the most.

????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

These are just a few of my favourite morning things;

  • Springing out of bed minus a dry mouth and a tongue that feels like it’s been scraped with a scouring pad
  • Experiencing no panic over illness or disease caused by heavy drinking
  • Drinking my first cup of Yorkshire tea and pondering the day ahead (as opposed to being gripped by the fear of what I did last night and can’t remember, and how the hell I’m going to make it through the day with such a God awful hangover)
  • Kissing my girls as they emerge sleepily from their dreams, knowing full well I’ve no dark secrets or shame to keep from their trusting hearts
  • Heading out early as the world is coming to life, feeling a part of the human race and smiling at people instead of scurrying past, too hungover to speak or to care
  • Knowing the day is mine for the taking, with nothing holding me back or keeping me submerged in a miserable booze-fuelled existence
  • Noticing nature all around me, from the bright blue sky to the vibrant greens of the trees, from the butterflies flitting around my garden to the birds chirping overhead
  • Feeling energetic and full of passion for my life and the people in it
  • The gratitude I feel for understanding how much better the world can be without alcohol fogging it up, and for how I found the strength to break free from drinking
  • How my first thought of the day isn’t ‘Oh no, what happened last night?’ but ‘Good morning world, I can’t wait to get at you!’
10 thoughts on “Wake Up & Live

    • So pleased this has helped – for me, reminding myself constantly of all that I was gaining by not drinking was what got me through the first tricky few months without alcohol. Best wishes – Lucy x

  1. One day at a time says:

    No more sore throats in the morning and big lumps on the back of my tongue making me think I’ve got throat cancer/cancer of the tongue. No more New Year’s wondering if I’ll make it through another year, no more thinking I’m not going to last much longer, no fear of logging onto facebook in the morning to see what idiotic comments I’d made the night before. Phew. What took us so long?

  2. jane says:

    Oh Lucy, how wonderfully your words have resonated with me…9 days AF and I have just come back from an early walk on the beach, gazing at distant mountains and breathing in all of the gorgeousness around me. The gentle turn of waves as they roll in from the ocean, watching surfers catching the bigger ones as they arrive, the sun’s rays streaming from behind puffs of early morning clouds as it rises in the eastern sky. This world is truly remarkable. Thank you xx

  3. So beautiful!!!! Can I ask how long it takes after going AF for the mood to lift, I’m only 7 days in and still feel relatively hungover which is upsetting. Just a bit foggy in the head, no more headaches though thankfully.

    • Hi and thanks for your comment. In answer to your question I think this differs from person to person, but for me it was a gradual process over several months. The depression and anxiety started to lift after just a couple of weeks, but feeling as though I’d really come out the other side and was happy to be totally AF took maybe a year to a year and a half. It was a long slog but totally worth it and much less agonising than the life of a heavy drinker!! I hope you feel better soon, and stay in touch to let me know how you’re getting on! Lucy x

Leave a Reply

